Settlement Communities Task Force

VeraSewColor - banner

Remnants of the area’s agricultural past still exist in plain view within and adjacent to Mount Pleasant.  Known as “Settlement Communities,” about a dozen historic African American communities have sought to hold on to their history and character in the face of Mount Pleasant’s unprecedented growth.  But now many worry that their continued existence may be in jeopardy. Throughout Mount Pleasant, development pressure has chipped away at their edges, undermining the communities’ historic character, integrity, and threatening their survival. This has long been recognized as a challenge, but no lasting solutions have been found. 

To this end, the Mount Pleasant Town Council has established a Settlement Communities Task Force to discuss issues affecting the various settlement areas within or adjacent to town boundaries. Council appointed 17 individuals from over 40 applications to serve on this Task Force at their meeting on October 12.  

The Task Force members are: 

  • Pearl Ascue
  • John Carson
  • George Freeman
  • Cheryl German
  • Jacquelyn Gore
  • Patricia Graham
  • Charlotte Jenkins
  • Lillie Johnson
  • Cassandra Johnson-Davis
  • Bernard King
  • Edward Lee
  • Theodesa Lyles
  • Laura Peirano
  • Ryan Pinckney
  • Kathy Smalls
  • Rhudine Washington
  • Kim Williams

The Settlement Communities Task Force will hold their first meeting on January 7, 2021 at 9:00 a.m.  It is expected that the group will meet over the period of approximately 12 months.

Questions may be directed to Liz Boyles .

(Updated: November 25, 2020)